A valid Michigan Concealed Carry Permit, also known as a CPL, IS STILL REQUIRED to carry a firearm concealed in the State of Michigan!
No firearms laws have changed.
Please allow us to repeat – CURRENTLY in order to carry a concealed handgun in Michigan you still require a a valid Michigan CPL license.
As of this writing – no new legislation has been signed into law – the set of bills the media has reported on are awaiting Senate consideration as of Wednesday, June 14, 2017. Please scroll to the bottom of this post for a link to the most current information available as to the progress of these bills.
The content of the bills that have been passed to the Michigan Senate can be found in the links below:
If, and when, these bills are read and passed through the Senate they must then be approved by the Governor in order for them to be signed into law.
There is potentially a long road ahead as the government is typically not in session during the summer months – currently they have a “tentative” meeting dates of July 12th and August 16th, but they also have a long list of other bills that they have been actively working on that take precedence over this new legislation.
Until the new legislation goes through all the hoops – our current gun laws remain unchanged. At this point, a summary of what you just read is this:
The bills proposing constitutional concealed carry have only passed the Michigan House. They still need to be approved by the Michigan Senate and then signed into law by the Governor. No one can accurately predict WHEN or even IF that will happen. Carrying concealed without a license is still a felony in Michigan!
If you are 18 years of age, or older, and have a firearm that is legally registered to you – you may still OPEN carry that firearm, but concealed carry privileges have not yet been granted without obtaining a Michigan CPL.
Don’t wait to protect yourself and your loved ones. Detroit Arms offers the Michigan 8-Hour Concealed Carry CCW/CPL Class every week. You do not need to own a handgun in order to take the class, we provide rental guns at no charge – the ammo is $13. We only request that you have some prior gun knowledge in order to take the class as safety is paramount.
THIS IS THE FIRST STEP TOWARD GETTING YOUR LICENSE. You must take and pass this class in order to even apply for your CPL license at your local county clerks office.
Take and pass your class and you can get your license in as little as one week! Don’t delay…contact Detroit Arms today! Visit our website at www.DetroitArms.com or call us at 586-598-5300 to register for a class.
READ THE LATEST UPDATE TO THE PROGRESS OF THIS PROPOSED LEGISLATION BY CLICKING HERE!