The Metro Detroit Area Michigan Concealed Carry Pistol License CCW/CPL Class Professionals!


This is your FIRST STEP in obtaining your Michigan Concealed Carry Pistol CCW/CPL license.

You must take and pass a certified class in order to even apply for your license.

Click HERE to make sure you qualify!

3 hour Michigan CPL Renewal classes are also available - we offer them in person, online or via a downloadable self study e-book!

Since 2007, tens of thousands of people JUST LIKE YOU received firearm training and have obtained their Michigan
Concealed Pistol License certification by taking the Detroit Arms Class!

Upcoming Class Schedule

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Friday, Jan 27, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sun, Feb 5, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sat, Feb 11, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sun, Feb 19, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sat, Feb 25, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sun, March 5, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sat, March 11, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

2-Evening ONLINE Class - Segment 1

Tuesday, March 21 & Wednesday, March 22, 2023
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm BOTH NIGHTS
In-Person Segment 2
Thursday, March 23, 2023
6:00 - 9:00 pm

$99 1-Day ALL IN PERSON Class

Sun, March 26, 2023 10:00 am -7:00 pm

The following states will allow you to carry concealed with your valid Michigan CPL.

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan Mississippi, Missouri, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

The following states will NOT allow you to carry concealed with your valid Michigan CPL.

California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island

Our Most Popular Classes

Your 1-Day In Person Michigan Concealed Pistol License CCW / CPL class includes all classroom materials, a printed application, hot lunch, snacks & beverages, brand new eye and ear protection that is yours to keep, indoor range time, FREE use of a rental firearm, and more!

In addition to our 1-day 8-Hour In Person CCW / CPL Training, we also offer Michigan CPL Renewal classes, 2-Evening classes, online training and other training opportunities on a regular basis.

All of our classes are valid for ALL Michigan counties!

1-Day 8-Hour IN PERSON - Valid for ALL Michigan Counties. Includes all classroom materials, your CPL application, a hot lunch, snacks & beverages, FREE use of a rental, indoor range time and more!

3-Hour Michigan CPL IN PERSON Renewal Class - This class is valid for ALL Counties in Michigan. You get a FREE printed copy of our Renewal E-book for attending. Range time is NOT included in the fee for this course.

3-Hour ON DEMAND Online Self Study Video Course - Looking to review the law at your own pace at your convenience? This on demand video series covers everything you need to know before renewing your license.

Our Classroom

The classroom is an open area for ease of reconfiguring for various classroom scenarios.

Our facility and the range are handicap accessible and there's plenty of room for everyone to be comfortable!

We have a state of the art AV system supporting both on premise and remote and or hybrid events.

There are 2 TV's and 1 large projector system in the classroom to offer a variety of viewing angles for different seating locations.

About Detroit Arms

Servicing Michigan since 2007

25986 S Knollwood Dr, New Baltimore, MI 48051, USA

Family & Veteran owned and operated firearms academy

We started the company with a great team of dedicated, hard working, like minded friends in September of 2007 as a means to change the public's mindset regarding firearms and personal defense.

Detroit Arms has grown to become one the states top firearms and safety training organizations, having trained tens of thousands of students.

We are located at 25986 S. Knollwood, Chesterfield, MI 48051 - off Gratiot, north of 21 Mile Road in the Apple Grove Plaza, all the way to the back.

Call or text us anytime 586-598-5300, or click the web chat below!

Our Blog

How do I get a Michigan Concealed Pistol Carry License CCW / CPL

January 14, 20172 min read

Your first step in obtaining a Michigan Concealed Carry CCW/CPL License is to take and pass an accredited class!!

WE TEACH THAT CLASS AT DETROIT ARMS on 21 Mile & Gratiot in Chesterfield, MI!  It's valid for ALL Michigan counties!

Registering for our class is easy! CLICK HERE, or you can call us at 586-598-5300 to reserve your seat for class. Our classes often sell out, so the sooner you call us to reserve a seat the better!!

Michigan is a "shall issue" state. That means that they will issue you a Michigan Concealed Pistol license as long as you meet the criteria outlined by the State of Michigan and the Michigan State Police.

Click here to read the Michigan State Police Concealed Pistol License Requirements.

The State of Michigan has also outlined the specific training necessary to obtain your license. The Detroit Arms 1-Day 8-Hour Michigan Concealed Carry Class meets, and exceeds, all state requirements for that training.

You do not need to own a firearm in order to take our class. We have several firearms available for you to use in order to complete the shooting portion of our class. There is NO CHARGE for you to utilize our guns. You are responsible for purchasing the ammunition - which you are required to purchase at the range the day of the class. The ammunition cost will be $15 or less.

Once you have taken, and passed, a Michigan Concealed Carry training class you must turn your paperwork in at your local county clerk office. You will be given a copy of the application, as well as instructions the day of our class.

You will take your ORIGINAL class completion certificate, a completed application - do not sign until you are in front of the clerk - and $115 to the COUNTY CLERKS Office for the county you live in.

The clerks office will give you a receipt and direct you where you need to go to get the appropriate fingerprinting done.

YOU HAVE 45 DAYS to get the fingerprints in the system - if you fail to get your fingerprints taken for a CPL Application, you will forfeit your $115 application fee, your application and the ability to apply again this calendar year.

After your prints have been placed in the system, the Michigan State Police take over processing your application. By law, they have 45 days to approve or deny you a license. Typically, this process takes 2-3 weeks.

IF AFTER 45 days you have not received a denial letter or a license, you may use your receipt from the clerks office to act as a temporary license.

Your concealed carry license will be good for up to five years, depending on where your birthday falls in the process.

Have questions? Please feel free to call us anytime at 586-598-5300 and we will be happy to help!

michigan cplmichigan ccwmichigan concealed pistolmichigan concealed carry

Doreen Hankins

Back to Blog

Follow Us



Contact Us

© 2022, Detroit Arms, LLC. All rights reserved.